Divergent Recap – Chapter 26

Short chapter because romance…

Tris and Tobias are walking hand in hand towards the Pit. Remember that Tobias wanted to show her something. He tells her he had four fears when he first went through the landscape and he still has 4 fears. Honestly, he should have 3 fears. I mean, shooting that woman was easy for him. He leads her down a path towards the bottom of the chasm.

I don’t want to ruin the moment, but I have to know about his aptitude test. I have to know if he’s Divergent.

Why? It’s not like he’s going to explain what that means. Rule #76: Make sure Hot Guy is also special (but maybe not as special as the heroine).

She asks him about it, and he answers if it matters. They arrive at the bottom of the chasm and find a flat rock to sit on.

“My result was as expected,” he says. “Abnegation.”
“Oh.” Something inside me deflates. I am wrong about him.

Yeah, because you liked him for his Divergent-ness. She remember that she technically got an Abnegation result and maybe that was the case with him. But she doesn’t understand why is he lying to her then. Well, Tris, he knows you for 2 weeks only. No one sane starts to pour their deepest secrets to a slightly sociopathic teenage girl.

Tris asks him why did he leave Abnegation. DUH! She’s so insensitive. And when he doesn’t answer, she figures that “oh, I actually know this answer.”

“You had to get away from your dad,” I say. “Is that why you don’t want to be a Dauntless leader? Because if you were, you might have to see him again?”

What do Dauntless leaders do again? Meh, who cares. They probably jump out of trains all day and find people to torture. Tobias goes on telling that he doesn’t quite belong there and Tris tells how he’s so incredible. Because “four fears is unheard of”. I would have appreciated to know the average number of fears.

He says, “I have a theory that selflessness and bravery aren’t all that different. All your life you’ve been training to forget yourself, so when you’re in danger, it becomes your first instinct. I could belong in Abnegation just as easily.”

When was he ever selfless in this book? He wasn’t ever. So, nice words, Four, but meaningless.

Suddenly I feel heavy. A lifetime of training wasn’t enough for me. My first instinct is still self-preservation.

Now, I’m going to wait for next time she or someone else talks about her Abnegation-wired brain. Oh, I didn’t have to wait long as Four reminds her how she took Al’s place and how she hit Marcus with a belt. Also, I like how she forget all the guilt she had about Al’s death. Not even a day passed since his funeral.

He’s figure out more about me than I have. And even though it seems impossible that he could feel something for me, given all that I’m not… maybe it isn’t.

Self-deprecating much? For fuck’s sake, he took you through his fear landscape, then into a secluded place. He obviously feels something for you, Tris. And because she’s so oblivious, he finally spells it out for her: “I watched you because I like you.”He also asks her to call him by his name.

Tris doesn’t know how to respond to that. She says that he’s older than her. Two years isn’t that much older. But we don’t really know how love relationships are perceived in this society. Fortunately, Four points that 2 years is not a big gap, so Tris changes tactics and points out she’s not pretty.

“Fine. You’re not pretty. So?” He kisses my cheek. “I like how you look. You’re deadly smart. You’re brave. And even though you found out about Marcus…” His voice softens. “You aren’t giving me that look. Like I’m a kicked puppy or something.”

Ha ha, deadly smart. I almost choked when I read that. And the fact she’s not giving that look, Four, means she has zero empathy. That’s like a red sign.

They kiss finally. And guess how much does Tris talks about how she feels given the fact that’s her first kiss. Nada. It’s all he did that, she did that, insert self-deprecating thought, he then did that, she did something else. And they kissed for several minutes and left. You know, guys, I like romance in a book. I have a stack of YA romance novels to review, so I know how first kisses are usually described. So, this book sucks at romance, making it almost unbelievable.

And then we rise, hand in hand, I realize that if we had both chosen differently, we might have ended up doing the same thing, in a safer place, in gray clothes instead of black ones.

True love, guys, true love? Aren’t you feeling it?

Tiger licks man

Love

