Insurgent Recap – Chapter 1

I debated with myself if I should continue recapping the next book in the Divergent series or start something else and then return to Insurgent. But then I read that there is basically no recapping of the first book in the second one, so I said to myself I better read it now, otherwise I’m going to forget stuff.

Veronica Roth did a guide for remembering stuff and I checked it out, even though I didn’t really need it. So, imagine my surprise when the first thing I read is:

Tris, Caleb, Natalie, Andrew: the family Prior. Youngest child, oldest child, mother, father, respectively.

ANDREW? The father’s name is Andrew? That’s the moment when panic surged through my body and whiny thoughts started running through my head, thoughts like “his name is mentioned” and “I hate you, book, for making me wrong.” After calming myself, I searched “Andrew” in the Divergent ebook. Guess how many times it appears? ONE! Just one freaking time. And it’s not even in a conversation between Natalie and him, or Marcus and him. Nope. It’s in the article Molly is reading to annoy Tris. So, it’s understandable why I glossed over that detail. Anyway, being that the father was an important character in the end, his name should have been mentioned in a memorable situation or repeated enough times. Therefore, I’m not feeling bad for saying he’s an unnamed character.

One more thing I want to emphasize from that blog post:

Jeanine, Eric, Max, and the other Erudite are…regrouping.

Nope, you can’t do that. You can’t add new stuff that doesn’t appear in the book in a post for remembering stuff. In the end of Divergent, Tris escapes the compound alongside other people and doesn’t know what happens in the rest of the city. Maybe the woken up Dauntless are so pissed off, they are executing the Erudite and Dauntless leaders. That’s a better possibility than the Dauntless doing nothing. That’s all I had to say, so let’s move on to the first chapter of Insurgent. 

The book starts with an epigraph.

Like a wild animal, the truth is too powerful to remain caged. — From the Candor faction manifesto

At the first glance, it seems like a nice metaphor. But what does it mean? The truth is always out there? The truth should always be spoken? I don’t know, but it bugs me that I cannot get it.

Chapter one starts picks up where the other book ended. All I can think is why isn’t this one book Tris wakes up, thinking about how she killed Will, and feels some guilt. Tobias tells her they have to jump off the train which means they are close to the fence. Everybody jumps, Tris lands on the ground, hurting her shoulder wound again, but still not enough to make it bleed. She searches for Caleb and hears him sniffing, and she does what any good sister would do. Turn away.

They are at the shut gate and there are no Dauntless guards there. How convenient. Tobias assumes that they were under the simulation probably, doing stuff. Tris wonders what happened to everyone after the simulation.

Tobias approaches a small metal box on the right side of the gate and opens it, revealing a keypad.
“Let’s hope the Erudite didn’t think to change this combination,” he says as he types in a series of numbers. He stops at the eighth one, and the gate clicks open.

How fucking convenient again! For a smart faction, the Erudite are incredibly dumb. And why have a simple keypad for security instead of having a fingerprint scanner, a retina scanner or just a simple card scanner. Caleb asks Tobias how did he know that, almost choking the words because he’s upset. He says that he used to monitor the security system and they only changed the codes twice a year. Why bother changing the codes ever? They should just have “00000000” as code forever. Why is this world so incredibly stupid?

Code 2345A

Or they could have done that…

“How lucky,” says Caleb. He gives Tobias a wary look.
“Luck has nothing to do with it,” Tobias says. “I only worked there because I wanted to make sure I could get out.”

Out where? Out of the faction? Out of the city? If he wanted out of the city, does he knows what’s beyond the fence, beyond the Amity crops? And if he were a leader couldn’t he find out this stuff anyway?

I shiver. The way he talks about getting out — it’s like he thinks we’re trapped. I never thought about it that way before, and now that seems foolish.

Yes, you have, Tris. On that day trip to the fence. I don’t really get that he’s thinking they are trapped from his words.

They walk to the Amity buildings. Caleb’s crying because he’s the not-sociopath one in that family. They have to walk through an orchard before they can reach the buildings and Tris notices rotten apples. ROTTEN APPLES! Why isn’t anyone picking them up when they are ripe? I thought they were suffering from insufficient resources, but apparently they can just leave apples to rot instead of gathering them and making various stuff from it, like jam. Some people say the world-building is better in this book. Well, if what I read until now is any indication, I’m pretty sure it will suck as much as before.

Marcus leads them to one of the buildings, Tris takes another jab at Caleb for crying and finally they get to Johanna Reyes, the representative of Amity, who could have been beautiful if not for the scar on her face. Because scarred people are ugly. Thank you, book, for enlightening us and showing us that conventional beauty still exists in a dystopian society.

Johanna is happy to see Marcus, but doesn’t hug him instead she just touches his shoulders. Amity are sensitive toward other faction’s customs. My, my, does it sound selfless a bit? She says that the other group of Abnegation arrived a few hours ago. She sends for a doctor and says they can stay the night, but their community must decide tomorrow if they’ll allow them to stay further. Apparently, the Amity won’t be happy to host some Dauntless in their compound. Then, Johanna asks for their weapons.

I wonder, suddenly, how she knows that I am Dauntless. I am still wearing a gray shirt. My father’s shirt.

She probably saw your pants that are black. And it’s Caleb’s shirt, not her father’s. But she feels the soap and sweat smell from the shirt and almost starts crying. Tobias gives his weapon, but doesn’t let Tris to handle her hidden weapon in her back. She says it’s smart to keep a weapon (why? Will the Amity try to kill you?), but it would have been a relief to hand it over.

Johanna extends her hand to them and introduces herself. Tobias uses his Dauntless name, “Four”, because he doesn’t want to be linked with his father. Because everyone in that society does not have anything else to, except memorize the Abnegation leaders and their kids’ names.

A nurse comes and gives Tris a salve which was developed by Erudite to speed healing. Nobody takes a look at her wound to see if they have to redo her stitches, if there’s bone or nerve damage. Nobody gives her fluids even though she lost a lot of blood. Nobody gives her antibiotics to prevent infection or pain meds. But I guess, she’s as good as new after running like a crazy and dropping on her wound. Only Peter is taken to the hospital ward.

They go to the cafeteria where they find some Abnegation members who are trying to hold in their tears. Oh, so, this is where Tris gets her tough act. She sags a bit thinking about all the stuff that happened, but she doesn’t let herself feeling anything and drinks a dreamless potion. I swear this is taken from Harry Potter. Even the color is similar. Here it is strawberry red, and there it was purple-ish. Someone leads her to a room with a bed and falls asleep. I can safely assume that the next chapter starts with her waking up.

2 thoughts on “Insurgent Recap – Chapter 1

  1. Elle says:

    I swear you are hilarious and the only reason I made it through these pathetic books for a friend who is hopelessly addicted

    • Thank you :). Glad to know I’m not the only one who thinks I’m funny. I do intend to continue those recaps, and settle into a pace like with the previous book.

Comments are closed.