Insurgent Recap – Chapter 6

In which we’re gonna play a game of “Guess the Potion”…

Oh my, how I missed those chapters that start with Tris waking up. This time she wakes from the buzz of Tobias’s electric razor. Short moment of affection and then Tris goes back to her room. But not before Tobias’s lends her a pair of shorts. So, I was right: she had no panties. I know, I’m so crass, but I’m trying to find the interesting parts in this book.

Guess who’s expecting her? Dum dum dum. PETER! Finally, some drama. Tris asks him to get out, but he’s looking at her without his usual malice. So maybe he’s good now. But Tris informs us it’s just an act, so for sure he’s still evil, guys. He asks why is she following Marcus. Why are you following her, Peter?

“I’m here because  I don’t know why you get to keep track of that hard drive,” he says. “It’s not like you’re particularly stable these days.”

What? I mean, I would have expected unstable things from Tris, but she’s basically doing nothing. She eats, sleeps and makes out with Tobias. Anyway, Tris wants to know why he’s interested in the hard drive and he says it contains more than the simulation data. Really? That’s new. But she doesn’t trust him and thinks he’s going to defect to the Erudite and needs the hard drive for that. He calls her an Abnegation-loving faction traitor. She’s like “you are such a psychopath you would’ve left your family to die.” Fun stuff.

“Careful what you say about my family, Stiff.” He moves with me, toward the dresser, but I carefully shift so that I stand between him and the drawers. […]
His eyes shift to the dresser behind me, to the left side, where the hard drive is hidden. I frown at him, and then notice something I didn’t before: a rectangular bulge in one of his pockets.

Why does he linger in her room if he already took the driver? Even more why is he moving in the direction of the dresser? This is stupid. Tris demands the hard drive back otherwise she’ll kill him in his sleep. They start fighting, and of course Tris is uber powerful. It’s not like Peter tried to rape and kill her, or even kicked her ass once. Nope.

Amity starts gathering around them and some grab Tris away from Peter. Apparently she’s acting like a crazy person. She yells that Peter has the drive and Tobias gets the drive. Afterwards, he reprimands Tris and let the two Amity men take her wherever.

The graying Amity man opens a door on the left. A label on the door says CONFLICT ROOM.
“Are you putting me in time-out or something?” I scowl. That is something the Amity would do: put me in time-out, and then teach me to do cleansing breaths or think positive thoughts.

I don’t think those two things are something bad. I mean I take relaxing breaths and try to think positive thoughts. They help coping with stress. The old man tells her to sit, she’s like “I won’t do that again.” The old man keeps saying they must follow protocol.

All their voices are so soft. Not hushed, like the Abnegation speak, always treading holy ground and trying not to disturb. Soft, soothing, low — I wonder, then, if that is something they teach their initiates here. How best to speak, move, smile, to encourage peace.

I’m not sure encouraging peace entails only smiles and soft voices. Otherwise they would tell those guys in the Middle East to just smile and speak softly to resolve everything. Tris eventually sits down and hears the old guy fumbling with something behind her. Apparently, he’s making tea, but Tris doesn’t think that’s the solution. She says they should throw Peter out of the compound. And here comes the interesting part:

“You have no idea what he did to deserve those things.” My cheeks get hot again and mimic my heartbeat. “He tried to kill me. And someone else —  he stabbed someone else in the eye… with a butter knife. He is evil. I had every right to –”
I feel a sharp pain in my neck. Dark spots cover the man in front of me, obscuring my view of his face.
“I’m sorry dear,” he says. “We are just following protocol.”

Ok, so this girl tells you about this guy who tried to kill 2 people and you’re like: “Yeah, let’s drug her.” Problem solved. I’m asking again: how are these fucking factions still standing? There should have been someone smart at some point who would have gamed the system. People escape from maximum security prisons. Someone could have manipulated his way to the top and wreck some havoc.

The old guy injected her with a bright green serum, which again is an unusual color. Do they dye all the serums so they won’t confuse them or what? Tris is dizzy and she doesn’t feel angry anymore, but good. Now you can start guessing what potion is this. She asks where to find Tobias and you have to read this:

“Four, I mean. He’s handsome, isn’t he? I don’t really know why he likes me so much. I’m not very nice, am I?”

This serum makes her very loose-lipped. And uninhibited.

And it does seem like a silly thing, slamming your fist into someone else’s body. Like a caress, but too hard. A caress is much nicer. Maybe I should have run my hand along Peter’s arm instead. That would have felt better to both of us.

This passage is wrong. It gives you the impression she is kind of attracted to Peter, the guy who sexually assaulted her and tried to kill her. WTF? It’s a way of condoning his behavior, albeit subtle.

Also, she’s transformed into clumsy Bella who can’t take a fucking step without stumbling or falling. Let me ask another question. Why is this serum working on her while the rest aren’t? All the serums affect the brain in some way, so her reaction should be similar. She could figure out it’s just an illusion of happiness.

Tris finds Tobias, giggling and swaying. She kisses him, but he’s too preoccupied to figure out why she’s acting like a total moron. She wants to kiss some more.

“That’s why you like me!” I exclaim. “Because you’re not very nice either! It makes so much more sense now.”

Yeah, sure, you’re two fucked up people who liked each other. How hard was that to figure out?

Tobias takes her to see Johanna. Tris continues to act like an idiot. Johanna says that they must have given Tris too much of the peace serum. Goodie, the bright green thing has a name. And it has a calming effect and improves the mood. You know, there are drugs that improve the mood, but they don’t transform you into a total retard. Tobias guesses that she probably dumps this stuff in the water supply to keep the peace. But she denies that.

Tobias informs her that they are leaving soon and throws some insults, just for fun. But apparently, Johanna disagrees privately with her faction about their decision to remain uninvolved in the conflict between Erudite and Abnegation. Well, they aren’t really maintaining peace. They are just pretending there’s no conflict. Stupid faction. Tobias says that they will be leaving in two days.

“Four,” she says. “If you and your friends would like to remain… untouched by our serum, you may want to avoid the bread.”

Spiked bread, huh? That’s just great: drugging all the faction to keep up “peace”.

So, have you guessed the potion similar to the serum?
Potions club

One thought on “Insurgent Recap – Chapter 6

Comments are closed.