Yanked by Melanie Harlow | Book Review

Displaying 22241626.jpg

Title: Yanked (Frenched 1.5)
Author: Melanie Harlow
Genre: Contemporary romance (Mature Content)
Published: 05/15/2012
Length: 150 pages
Format: ebook, paperback
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: Mia Devine fell hard for Lucas Fournier after their magical week in Paris. But eight months later, the free-spirited half-French musician still hasn’t made any promises about their future. And as magnifique as long-distance phone sex is, nothing compares to the real thing.

Fed up with stolen weekends and lonely nights, Mia flies to New York armed with a list of reasons why they should take the next step, but an unexpected guest in Lucas’s apartment derails her plans. He’s been keeping secrets–worse, he claims he’s happy with the way things are.

Without the magic of Paris, can their mismatched love survive?

My thoughts: I read Frenched a couple of weeks ago (should review it too), and I was pretty interested to see how their story continues in Yanked. The second book is more of a novella, super quick to read (less than a day) and provides a nice HEA for the Mia and Lucas.

Some might say this book contains unnecessary drama and I have to be honest I might have been pissed when I got to Lucas being kind of an asshole and stopped reading for a few hours. But when I thought about it more, I realized his behavior was pretty consistent actually. And everything turns out for the best which was what I hoped to read. There were some steamy sex scenes: the book opens with phone sex which was awesome. I kind of wished this book was longer, so we would have a chance to meet Mia’s mom which would have been hilarious. Also, evil ex trope? Can we forget about it, please? All in all, it was a fun read and a great end to Frenched.

As a bonus (and because I’m trying to build a fashion startup), here’s the outfit I’ve pictured Mia arriving at Lucas’s apartment.

My rating: 4 stars

About the author: Melanie Harlow likes her martinis dry, her lipstick red, and her history with the naughty bits left in. She’s a 20th century fanatic and gets her kicks from historical fiction and TV series like Boardwalk Empire, Magic City, Deadwood, Mad Men, and Downtown Abbey (although she wishes it were more HBO and less PBS).

You can find Melanie on these websites:

http://www.melanieharlow.com/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7095467.Melanie_Harlow
https://twitter.com/MelanieHarlow2
https://www.facebook.com/AuthorMelanieHarlow
http://melanieharlow.tumblr.com/

There’s also a giveaway you can enter to win a $20 Amazon gift card.

2 thoughts on “Yanked by Melanie Harlow | Book Review

  1. melanieharlowwrites says:

    I love the outfits! I’d love to have you do a guest blog post and style some scenes from Frenched or Yanked! And I love that you got the consistency of Lucas’s reaction. He’s not perfect, but he does love her. That makes me happy. ❤ Email me if you'd like to do the guest post: melanieharlowwrites@gmail.com 🙂

    • Thank you! I would love to do a guest blog post with outfits for scenes from Frenched and Yanked 🙂 I’ll email you this week.

Comments are closed.