Marry Me For Money by Mia Kayla | Book Review

Displaying MarryMeForMoneyTourBanner.pngDisplaying MarryMeForMoney.jpg

Title: Marry Me For Money
Author: Mia Kayla
Genre: Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Published: 05/04/2014
Length: 285 pages
Format: ebook, paperback
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: Leaving her small town behind, Bethany Casse moves to Chicago in search of a new life. Working at a top financial bank brings her into contact with two men who are as different as night and day.

Kent Plack, heir to Plack Industries, has no interest in being with a woman for longer than one night. A spoiled and lazy man-whore, he is completely content with his playboy lifestyle, and Beth is surprised when they form an unlikely friendship.

Brian Burcham, a finance banker, is gorgeous and respectful. A man plucked from Beth’s dreams, he is definite husband material. Unfortunately, Beth has a hard rule against dating coworkers, but Brian is determined to change her mind.

When a deadbeat mother and money problems follow her to Chicago, Beth is offered a solution that could fix everything. Marrying for money seems simple enough, but when lines become blurred, Beth faces difficult choices, making her realize that the easy way out just made her life even harder than before.

My thoughts: To be honest, I loved the title, then I loved the cover, and that’s how I decided I have to read this book. The moment I got I was super excited, and I basically read this in one day while flying from Stockholm to Bucharest with a pretty long stop in Warsaw. So, pretty easy read and quite entertaining while travelling alone.

I got hooked from the prologue. Usually prologues either reveal too little or too much, but this focused more on the emotions of the main character. One snippet I liked:

The time went by slowly as if it were dragging on purpose to punish me for living the biggest lie of my life. Everyone always said their wedding day had flown by. This day was killing me, killing me softly and slowly.

After that, we meet Beth, new employed underwriter at a big financial firm, which apparently was her dream. By chance, she gets to accompany one of the bankers to a business meeting the CEO of Plack Industries. There, she meets Kent, the son of that said CEO, a very hot guy, but a serious player. Beth isn’t interested in sleeping with him, but Kent wants to be her friend.

It was fun reading about them being friends, even though they both felt more than that. Especially, after Beth started seeing Brian. I also liked Beth backstory and all her stuff about her deadbeat mother. Most stuff was predictable though, but I can’t say I didn’t love the ending. Because I did, but I’m not spoiling it. All in all, it was a nice NA book to read and I can’t wait to see what Mia Kayla will write next.

My rating: 4 stars

About the author: Mia Kayla is a New Adult/Contemporary Romance writer who lives in Illinois.

On the weekdays, she can be caught wearing a suit, commuting to her corporate job in downtown Chicago and raising three beautiful munchkins in the suburbs, four if you count the husband.

In her free time she loves reading romance novels, jamming to boy bands, catching up on celebrity gossip and designing flowers for weddings.

Most of the time, she can be caught on the train with her nose in a book sporting a cheeky grin because the main characters finally get their happily-ever-after at the end.

She loves reading about happy endings but has more fun writing them.

Author Links:

http://www.miakayla.blogspot.ca/
https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7382805.Mia_Kayla
https://www.facebook.com/authormiakayla
https://twitter.com/authormiakayla

There is also a giveaway you can enter to win a print copy of Marry Me For Money and an Amazon gift card. You can enter it here.

2 thoughts on “Marry Me For Money by Mia Kayla | Book Review

  1. Oh I love the sounds of this one! I feel the same about prologues they’re often just pointless of more bad than good, but I love it when you get one that really sets the tone of the book perfectly. Wonderful review!

Comments are closed.