Clinging to Rapture by Megan D. Martin | Book Review

Displaying MeganDMartin-Blogtourbutton.jpg

Displaying MeganDMartin-ClingingtoRapture.jpg

Title: Clinging To Rapture (Rapture #2)
Author: Colleen Hoover
Genre: NA Dark Erotica
Published: 07/28/2014
Length: 200 pages
Format: ebook
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: “I let you walk away, Julia. I let you go, but I can still take you back if I want.”

Four months ago I ran away. I left him behind. The man who stalked me, took control of my body, and claimed he loved me.

Now he’s returned. Like dripping razor blades, he has slashed his way back into my life. But everything is different.

He doesn’t want me anymore.

I expected him to come back, to be sorry. I even planned to forgive him. I should have known that he would discard me like everyone else in my life. But I’m going to change that.

My billionaire stalker has come to say goodbye…only this time I plan to keep him.

My thoughts: From the moment I put down the first book in the series (Drowning in Rapture) I wanted to know more. Cue stalkerish behavior on Megan’s pages to see when she’s going to publish the next book. Well, not very stalkerish, but I did check at least one time per week her blog. And I was super ecstatic when I read this excerpt from the book. So, I was beyond thrilled when the book was released.

I liked a lot that the book was longer than the previous one. I think that helped Megan explore more of the characters’ minds. Cole’s POV was a wonderful addition as I got to understand him more. I really enjoyed that the book also explored Cole’s insecurities, especially the dilemma of what he feels about Julia and what should he feel. He also has insecurities about women in general, which is a first for me (erotica’s billionaire are more or less, well, perfect). That was refreshing and explained partly his behavior in the previous book.

Julia was quite a mess, but a believable mess. She quit her job at the club and started working in a gas station, which also meant moving to a crappy apartment. That’s depressing as it is. Then one night, Cole comes in with his snotty fiancée. No wonder, Julia started feeling sick afterwards. Everything starts going down from that point for Julia. We also get to meet her father which gives us a glimpse in her past and why she made the choices she made. I don’t want spoil everything, so I’m going to tell you there’s also some mystery and murder. If you like your erotica nice and fluffy, don’t read this. But if you love erotica with a twist and maybe a little dark, this will be right up your alley.

Displaying Clingingtorapture_teaser.jpg

My rating: 4.5 stars

About the author: Megan D. Martin is a multi-published author, mother, student and editor. She writes New Adult Romance with a bloody, sexy twist. Her characters are damaged souls who find each other in the dark and have to fight for a love they may or may not deserve.

In her spare time Megan plays Batman with her incredibly sweet son, watches too many episodes of Vampire Diaries (Ian, call me!), buys fish for her many fish tanks, and has long talks with Gandaldore (the little writing wizard that sits on her desk.) She is well known for losing her keys and has more than one nerdy tattoo.

You can find Megan on this websites:
http://www.MeganDMartin.blogspot.com
http://www.twitter.com/Megan_D_Martin
http://www.twitter.com/Megan_D_Martin

