Image

The Last Boyfriend by J. S. Cooper| Book Review

The Last Boyfriend Cover

Title: The Last Boyfriend
Author: J.S.Cooper
Genre: NA Contemporary Romance (or so they say; it’s more erotica than romance)
Published: 11/29/2013
Length: 208 pages
Format: ebook, paperback, audiobook
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: Lucky Morgan has had her share of heartbreak. She is devastated when her boyfriend dumps her after sleeping with him and she vows to herself that she won’t be used again. She decides that the next guy she dates and sleeps with, will be her one true love.

Zane Beaumont is the mysterious and snooty guy that comes into her diner every Friday night with a different girl. He’s the type of guy she’s learned to avoid: carefree, fast, handsome, rich, and sarcastic. Unfortunately, she can’t stop thinking about the devilish gleam in his eyes.

When Lucky’s car breaks down one night after a party, it is Zane who comes to her rescue. As Zane attempts to sweep Lucky off of her feet, she soon realizes that nothing is as it seems and that Zane may very well be the guy for whom she changes the rules. That is until she meets Braydon.
New Adult Contemporary Romance **Mature Content** Recommended for ages 17+ due to sexual situations and language.

Continue reading

Advertisements
Image

How to Love by Katie Cotugno | Book Review

How to Love Cover

Title: How to Love
Author: Katie Cotugno
Genre: YA/NA Romance
Published: 10/1/2013
Length: 389 pages
Format: ebook, hardcover, paperback, audiobook
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: For fans of Sarah Dessen and John Green, How to Love is a breathtaking debut about a couple who falls in love . . . twice.

Before: Reena Montero has loved Sawyer LeGrande for as long as she can remember: as natural as breathing, as endless as time. But he’s never seemed to notice that Reena even exists…until one day, impossibly, he does. Reena and Sawyer fall in messy, complicated love. But then Sawyer disappears from their humid Florida town without a word, leaving a devastated—and pregnant—Reena behind.

After: Almost three years have passed, and there’s a new love in Reena’s life: her daughter, Hannah. Reena’s gotten used to being without Sawyer, and she’s finally getting the hang of this strange, unexpected life. But just as swiftly and suddenly as he disappeared, Sawyer turns up again. Reena doesn’t want anything to do with him, though she’d be lying if she said Sawyer’s being back wasn’t stirring something in her. After everything that’s happened, can Reena really let herself love Sawyer LeGrande again?

In this breathtaking debut, Katie Cotugno weaves together the story of one couple falling in love—twice.

Continue reading

Image

Divergent Recap – Chapter 36

In which Tris does something horrible, but she’s still super special…

Despite being in immense pain, Tris continues to run. She’s followed by three Dauntless soldiers who fire at her. She dives into an alley because it’s not like she’s been shot in the shoulder or anything. She remebers the Dauntless killed her mother, so she fires in the direction of the soldiers and she kills two of them. She points her gun to the last soldiers, but she doesn’t fire because the last soldier is Will. Who is mindless and ready to shot her. But she’s faster. Continue reading

Image

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles | Book Review

Perfect Chemistry Cover

Title: Perfect Chemistry
Author: Simone Elkeles
Genre: 
YA romance
Published: 
12/28/2008
Length: 
368 pages in print
Format: 
ebook, print
Buy at:
 Amazon and many other places

Summary: A fresh, urban twist on the classic tale of star-crossed lovers.

When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created “perfect” life is about to unravel before her eyes. She’s forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she’s worked so hard for—her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.

In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart. Continue reading

Image

Accidents & Incidents by Riley Graham | Book Review

Accidents & Incidents

Title: Accidents & Incidents
Author: Riley Graham
Genre:
YA romance, Coming of Age
Published:
11/25/2013
Length:
222 pages in print
Format:
ebook, print
Buy at:
Amazon

Summary: Sometimes finding love means taking the scenic route …

Living with her faultfinding mother has taught Leslie not to ask for much. Just watch your step, stay on the sidelines, and take what you can get. But she wants a mom who thanks her for cleaning the kitchen instead of yelling at her for missing a spot, and a boyfriend who does more than score her a seat at the popular table—someone who actually notices her sitting there.

So when Cain, the school heartbreaker, turns his Carolina blue eyes her way, Leslie can’t help but be tempted, even if he’s her boyfriend’s best friend. Things get even more complicated when Leslie strikes up unlikely friendships with Meredith, Cain’s girlfriend, and Dennis, a boy addicted to cigarettes and solitude. Despite his tough exterior, Dennis seems to understand Leslie in a way that no one ever has, and to need her as much as she needs him.

For the first time in her life, Leslie feels like she could belong. She’s just not sure where.

Just in time for the holidays, this teen romance features a Halloween betrayal, a Thanksgiving revelation, an unexpected Christmas gift, and a New Year’s Eve party where everything comes to a head. Will Leslie ring in the New Year with the right guy, or end up right back where she started—alone? Continue reading

Image

Divergent Recap – Chapter 21

In which Four sweeps in and saves the day…

Yesterday I almost choked on a calamari ring and it was a very traumatic experience as I imagined the calamari coming alive and trying to strangle me from the inside of my throat. I know, it was weird. My anxiety kicked in, but I managed to swallow the calamari and not die. After that, I didn’t feel like reading anything about Tris and risk getting annoyed about how little this book understands about fear, so me and my boyfriend watched a Korean movie, A Tale of Two Sisters. Movie I totally recommend. End of my rant.

Tris is walking around the compound thinking about the last 4 days since she spoke with Tori. Can you believe we didn’t get one chapter for each day? I’m so shocked. Especially since this phase of training is supposed to be so traumatic. During those 4 days, the Erudite managed to release another 2 articles about Abnegation: one in which they accuse Abnegation for withholding luxuries from the other factions, and another in which they question why should the Abnegation be the only one ruling the other faction, instead of having a democracy. The latter makes sense. Why don’t they have a democracy? Continue reading