The Truth About Air & Water by Katherine Owen | Book Review

Displaying TruthAboutAirandWaterTour.png

Displaying TruthAirWaterCover.jpg

Title: The Truth About Air & Water (Truth in Lies, book 2)
Author: Katherine Owen
Genre: NA romance
Published: 08/24/2014
Length: 390pages
Format: ebook, paperback
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: The Truth In Lies Series. READ This Much Is True, book 1 first, although it’s been written as a standalone. Readers say, don’t do that.

“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.” -Ernest Hemingway ~ A Farewell To Arms

They share an epic love but one moment changes everything. A life together that seemed certain is shattered. One learns you never love the same way twice; the other learns what it means to come home. You only think you know how this love story goes, but do you really know how an epic love can end?

“There are all kinds of love in this world but never the same love twice.”
-F. Scott Fitzgerald

She is living color, and I’ve been in a black-and-white world for far too long without her.
Powerful stuff. It surrounds me. I’ve felt it since I first arrived. The forcefield of her. The magnetism of her. The power she wields over me. I’m alive again because of her, like a dying plant that finally gets some water. I’ve got it bad for this girl.
Reality dawns.
The light comes through the darkness and shines on me.
She’s my water.

-Lincoln Presley

The truth is I breathe with him. He is my air. Raison d’etre.
-Tally Landon

Author’s note: This novel is part of the Truth In Lies series. It can be read as standalone, however, fans of my fiction already are highly recommending that those new to my work, READ This Much Is True book 1 FIRST.

As Lincoln Presley would say, “do as you must, Princess.”

(Read more about 2 giveaways at the end of the post.)

Continue reading

Antique Magic by Eileen Harris | Book Promo

Displaying Banner.jpg

Displaying 13604828.jpg

Title: Antique Magic
Author: Eileen Harris
Genre: Mystery with romance elements
Published: 11/06/2011
Length: 262 pages
Format: ebook, paperback
Buy At: Amazon

Summary:  Antique dealer Alicia Trent is hired to appraise a huge collection of treasures hoarded by a woman who has recently died in the town where Alicia grew up.

The huge old house poses mystery after mystery from the moment she arrives, but the stakes become deadly when murder is added to the mix. The question then becomes, can she stay alive long enough to unmask the killer?

(Click more for an excerpt) Continue reading

The Empress Chronicles by Suzy Vitello | Book Review

Title: The Empress Chronicles
Author: Suzy Vitello
Genre: YA fantasy with historic elements
Published: 09/01/2014
Length: 284 pages
Format: ebook, paperback,
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: In this dazzling novel from the author of THE MOMENT BEFORE, one courageous girl seeks keys to the past to unlock the future…

When city girl Liz is banished to a rural goat farm on the outskirts of Portland, the 15-year-old feels her life spiraling out of control. She can’t connect to her father or his young girlfriend, and past trauma adds to her sense of upheaval. The only person who seems to keep her sane is a troubled boy who is fighting his own demons. But all of this changes in one historical instant.

One-hundred fifty years earlier, Elisabeth of Bavaria has troubles of her own. Her childhood is coming to a crashing end, and her destiny is written in the form of a soothsaying locket that has the ability to predict true love. But evil is afoot in the form of a wicked enchantress who connives to wield the power of the locket for her own destructive ends.

When Liz finds a timeworn diary, and within it a locket, she discovers the secrets and desires of the young Bavarian princess who will one day grow up to be the legendary Empress of Austria.

It is in the pages of the diary that these two heroines will meet, and it is through their interwoven story that Liz will discover she has the power to rewrite history—including her own…

Readers of books like Rachel Harris’s MY SUPER SWEET SIXTEENTH CENTURY will love THE EMPRESS CHRONICLES.

Continue reading

Two Faced by Melissa Pearl | Book Review

Title: Two Faced
Author: Melissa Pearl
Genre: NA Mystery, Romance
Published: 10/09/2014
Length: 279 pages
Format: ebook, paperback
Buy At: Amazon, Smashwords, iBooks

Summary: Caitlyn Davis has an unusual gift. She knows exactly how people feel. Everyone  wears a mask, but she sees the hidden truth. This ability has changed her life, both  for the better and worse. She can choose to ignore what she sees…but what happens  when it involves the guy she loves?

Eric Shore knew getting involved with a girl who could read people was risky, but he couldn’t help himself. Caitlyn is gorgeous and he loves being with her. Their relationship is going great…until she tells him that his step-brother and star basketball player, Connor, is doing drugs. Having looked up to the guy for years, Eric  just can’t buy it. Things only get worse when Caitlyn questions the true nature of Eric’s favorite teacher.

The first year at college is supposed to be amazing, but theirs is off to a rocky start.  As masks are peeled away, secrets will be exposed, dangers will be revealed, and  both must decide out of the people closest to them, who is telling the truth…and who  is being two-faced.

Continue reading

Two Faced by Melissa Pearl | Cover Reveal

Two Faced

 

TWO FACED BY MELISSA PEARL

COVER REVEAL

ADD IT TO YOUR GOODREADS: http://bit.ly/TFCRGR

RSVP TO THE RELEASE DAY/ MELISSA PEARL 15th BOOK CELEBRATION: http://bit.ly/RSVPTFRDB

ENTER THE SHARE THE POST GIVEAWAY: http://eepurl.com/13lWn

Two Faced ecover 26-9-14

Caitlyn Davies has an unusual gift. She knows exactly how people feel. Everyone wears a mask, but she sees the hidden truth. This ability has changed her life, both for the better and worse. She can choose to ignore what she sees…but what happens when it involves the guy she loves?

Eric Shore knew getting involved with a girl who could read people was risky, but he couldn’t help himself. Caitlyn is gorgeous and he loves being with her. Their relationship is going great…until she tells him that his step-brother and star basketball player, Connor, is doing drugs. Having looked up to the guy for years, Eric just can’t buy it. Things only get worse when Caitlyn questions the true nature of Eric’s favorite teacher.

The first year at college is supposed to be amazing, but theirs is off to a rocky start. As masks are peeled away, secrets will be exposed, dangers will be revealed, and both must decide out of the people closest to them, who is telling the truth…and who is being two-faced…

TWO FACED WRAP 24-9-14

~*~ABOUT THE AUTHOR~*~

Melissa

Melissa Pearl was born in Auckland, New Zealand, but has spent much of her life abroad, living in countries such as Jordan, Cyprus and Pakistan… not to mention a nine month road trip around North America with her husband. “Best. Year. Ever!!” She now lives in China with her husband and two sons. She is a trained elementary teacher, but writing is her passion. Since becoming a full time mother she has had the opportunity to pursue this dream and her debut novel hit the internet in November 2011. Since then she has continued to produce a steady stream of books. Recently she signed with Evatopia Press and her first Evatopia book was released in February 2014 – True Colors, The Masks Series #1. She is very excited to be trying out new things this year while continuing to publish under her own name as well. She has six new titles releasing in 2014 and is excited about writing each and every one of them.

“I am passionate about writing. It stirs a fire in my soul that I never knew I had. I want to be the best writer I can possibly be and transport my readers into another world where they can laugh, cry and fall in love.”

FIND MELISSA AT:

https://twitter.com/MelissaPearlG

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5314516.Melissa_Pearl?from_search=true

http://www.amazon.com/Melissa-Pearl/e/B0064I6S26/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1402684718&sr=1-2-ent

https://www.facebook.com/melissapearlauthor

http://www.melissapearlauthor.com

MMW

My thoughts: As you probably know if you’re following my blog, I reviewed a couple of Melissa Pearl’s books before (here and here). So, I was pretty happy to hear that Two Faced (the next book in the Masks series) will be out this year. I’m very curious to see how life for Caitlyn at college, how her relationship with Eric will fare and what new secrets will she uncover. I have to admit though that I’m not very fond of the cover. The previous book’s cover was gorgeous and colorful. This one reminds me a bit of a cyborg (sorry, Melissa). It’s weird and I don’t see how it relates to the series actually. But I’m pretty sure the book will be amazing, and I’m counting the days until the release.

Love found in California by Melissa Rolka | Blitz Release

Melissa_Rolka_-_Love_Foundin_California_cover[1]

Synopsis: This is a stand alone novella that is part of The Washington Triplet Novella’s: The Quiet One

Mikaela Washington, the middle Triplet, has always been labeled the quiet one. Her parents claim her as the introvert or just shy. Of course she was, what other role could she take? All the others had been fulfilled.

Going away to college with her sisters was always the plan until unforeseen circumstances push Mikaela into a dark corner she can’t get out of. Her sisters think she’s just being more unusual than normal and her dad barely notices. The only person she can trust and confide in is her mom.

She stays back and lives at home with her parents. These years are difficult, but she manages to find a career and go to therapy. During this time she learns her family home is not what it seems. She sees and hears things that her sisters know nothing about. Then when her mom suddenly dies she’s left to deal with not only her tragedy, but also the secrets of her family.

Finally Mikaela realizes it’s time… time to move on, live on her own like her sisters and try to start new. When she moves to California she finds the job of her dreams and the man of her dreams attached to it… Ryan Chambers.

To read more about the Washington Triplet’s check out Love Discovered in New York and Love Grows in Alaska.

Excerpt:

Buy here: Amazon

About the author: Melissa Rolka grew up in the Chicago and area all of her childhood and has always had a love of writing. She started by keeping a journal at a young age and then in high  school she started writing poetry. A couple poems were published anonymously. Then in college she majored in Philosophy, which required lots and lots of writing. After graduating from Marquette University she traveled west to Los Angeles. There she worked for the Writers Guild of America and found herself submerged in the writers world. She worked on small writings, but never pursued them. On the side she became involved with a small theater group. Eventually she made her way back to the Midwest, where her heart belongs, and worked in business for several years. She found love, got married and has two beautiful children. Being at home has allowed her to keep following her love of reading and writing. When Melissa is not writing she is caring for, playing with and loving her two kids. In between taking care of her family and writing she almost always has her nose buried in her Kindle.

Connect with Melissa:

There’s also a giveaway you can enter here: a Rafflecopter giveaway

My thoughts: So, I’m promoting this because it actually seems like an interesting series. I haven’t read any of the books in the The Washington Triplet series, but the idea of basing a series on a triplet of sisters seems fun. It reminds me a bit of It was you by Anna Cruise which was definitely a great book. Love found in California seems to have a bit more drama in it though (family secrets! There’s got to be drama in there). When I have time I’ll pick up the series and tell you if it’s worth it.

 

Hidden Heart by Measha Stone | Book Review

Displaying hidden heart RB banner.jpg

Displaying hidden heart cover.jpg

Title: Hidden Heart (Windy City Series, Book 1)
Author: Measha Stone
Genre: BDSM romance (Mature Content)
Published: 09/26/2014
Length: 89 pages
Format: ebook, paperback
Buy At: Amazon

Summary: Jessica Stanley is comfortable in her orderly life as a paralegal at a high end law firm. Having dated her fair share of liars and manipulators, Jessica views men through a pair of thick, cynical lenses. Men are good for one thing in her eyes, and one thing only.

Her predictable life is thrown into a whirlwind of new experiences when she meets a dominating man at a casual dinner with friends.

Royce Bradford is a man of intent and is used to getting his way. Until he meets Jessica. She is wound tight, and he finds himself yearning to unravel her secrets and her passions.

Jessica declares their relationship casual. She’s tempted by his seductive tone and unusually powerful demeanor to give him that much. But for Royce, it’s not enough. He wants more.

Except Jessica has built a secret tomb around her heart, and it will take a lot more than sensual play times and verbal commands for him to be allowed entrance. Royce never backs down from his desires. He takes up the challenge to seek out her Hidden Heart.

Continue reading